Wholesale jewelry: Pearl jewelry, pearl necklace

« Offbeat Beauty - Stone Jewelry | Main | Beautiful Polymer Clay Jewelry »

Semi-Precious Stones

In the gems world, one of the most familiar distinctions is that between precious and semi precious gems.

The idea that some gemstones are precious and others are only semi-precious is familiar to most buyers of colored stones. The precious stones, which include sapphire, ruby, emerald and diamond, command a premium price in the market due to their color, hardness and rarity.

As a matter of fact, there are many misconceptions associated with this distinction. One of them is that the distinction has a long-standing tradition, going back many centuries. Indeed, it is a fairly recent innovation, dating only to the 19th century.

Another misconception is that people think the specific list of four precious gems has a long history. In fact the there are many precious gemstones in its traditional list, also includes some surprising members. Pearl, not strictly speaking as a gemstone, was considered to be precious; so was opal. The most traditional precious stone, which has a history going back to ancient Greece, is amethyst. It was once reclassified as semi-precious after large deposits were found in Brazil and Uruguay in the first half of the 19th century. Indeed it was because of the the new amethyst discoveries of Amethyst that the term semi-precious be introduced into the English lexicon.

There are ten common types of semi-precious stones.

Agate is considered as a happy stone, which is a blend of tangerine, red, and off white. It is believed that this stones bring stability in life and prosperity and are often used in making mantel clocks and figurines.

Amber is a honey-brown colored gemstone that denotes eternal joy and luck, which is usually turned to beads to become necklaces and bracelets.

Aquamarine, which means sea water literally, the color of which is usually deep blue. This is the gemstone used for the celebration of the 19th year of marriage, further symbolizing loyalty and honesty.

Charoite is a symbol of courage and is used to promote a good sleep by several cultures. The color of this stone is usually deep purple and they are often used to decorate jewelry boxes.

As for coral, this stone is used by many people to improve blood circulation and digestive function, so that it is also called as the stone of the youth and hope. There are different colors of corals, from deep red to pale rose. Generally it is often turned into small beads.

Emerald is regarded as the birthstone of people born under the Taurus zodiac. These are usually green or dark blue. It is a symbol of everlasting love, and they are ideally given during the twentieth wedding anniversary.

Garnet are used to maintain physical and mental balance by a lot of people. This gemstone has also healing powers, especially in relieving pituitary disorders. It is wine red in color and is often made into pendants.

Jasper is the stone of joy, which is brownish red in color. It is often used in making the base of mantel clocks, jewelry boxes, and lampshades.

In terms of moonstone, it can be colorless or in a pale shade of grey, pink, and white. The stone brings emotional balance and protection for very young babies. Moonstones are often turned into earrings, pendants, and key chains.

Last but not least, topaz, the birthstone of people born under the zodiac sign of Scorpio, brings strength and spiritual healing. Topaz is often used as a pendant.

After knowing what semi-precious stones is and different types of it, do you get interested in it?

ToPearl.com, China's online jewelry store - Wholesale jewelry,pearl jewelry,pearl necklace,Pearl earrings,pearl bracelet
Copyright © 2005-2008 ToPearl.com. All rights reserved
Powered by ToPearl Jewelry